Skip to main content

Members and Observers

IPBES was established in 2012 by 94 governments, and its membership has continued to grow as IPBES' impact has increased.


Who can become a member?
All States Members of the United Nations are eligible for IPBES membership.

Why become a member?
To strengthen knowledge foundations for better policy through science, for the conservation and sustainable use of biodiversity, long-term human well-being and sustainable development.

How to become a member?
Should your Government wish to join IPBES, this intention should be officially communicated to the IPBES secretariat from the relevant governmental authority. For example, this can take the form of a formal letter from the relevant Government Minister.


All States Members of the United Nations that are not members of IPBES (listed as Observer States in the table below), conventions, multilateral organizations, United Nations bodies and specialized agencies and other organizations that have been approved as observers at the previous sessions. The list of Observer organisations is available here 

Members and observers

Country Status Region Member since Sort descending
Tonga Observer Asia-Pacific States
Barbados Observer Latin American and Caribbean States
Sao Tome and Principe Observer African States
Kiribati Observer Asia-Pacific States
Vanuatu Observer Asia-Pacific States
Lebanon Observer Asia-Pacific States
Dominica Observer Latin American and Caribbean States
Comoros Member African States
South Sudan Observer African States
Marshall Islands Observer Asia-Pacific States